If you are pulled over and arrested for drug possession involving marijuana, heroin or cocaine, then you may also be charged with the traffic offense known as CDS in a Motor Vehicle. Under NJSA 39:4-49.1, possession of CDS in a Motor Vehicle carries a mandatory license suspension for two (2) years. For some clients, a two year license suspension is more devastating than a criminal record. With how much we rely on transportation for employment and family, it is imperative that we keep our driver’s license from being suspended. Although CDS in a motor vehicle is a traffic offense in New Jersey, the penalties if convicted are equally as devastating as someone who has been convicted of a second offense DWI. As you will see below, anyone convicted of this offense will be facing a mandatory two year loss of license. There is absolutely zero discretion when it comes to not only if the individual’s license will be suspended but for the time period to. If you have been arrested and charged with possession of CDS in a motor vehicle, possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana orpossession of drug paraphernalia in Burlington County, contact a criminal defense attorney immediately.
CDS in a Motor Vehicle Attorneys in Mount Laurel NJ
Tickets for CDS in a Motor Vehicle are governed by NJSA 39:4-49.1. Specifically, the law states that:
“No person shall operate a motor vehicle on any highway while knowingly having in his possession or in the motor vehicle any controlled dangerous substance as classified in Schedules I, II, III, IV and V of the ‘New Jersey Controlled Dangerous Substances Act,’ (24:21-1 et seq.) or any prescription legend drug, unless the person has obtained the substance or drug from, or on a valid written prescription of, a duly licensed physician, veterinarian, dentist or other medical practitioner licensed to write prescriptions intended for the treatment or prevention of disease in man or animals or unless the person possesses a controlled dangerous substance pursuant to a lawful order of a practitioner or lawfully possesses a Schedule V substance.”
Will I Lose My License For Having Marijuana in My Car?
If you plead guilty or are found guilty of a controlled dangerous substances like marijuana in your car, then you will be facing a mandatory license suspension of two years, pursuant to NJSA 39:4-49.1. Additionally, the court will impose a mandatory minimum fine of $50.00. This is in addition to any fines, probation or jail time that the court imposes for any criminal charges that you are facing for NJSA 2C:10-35a(4).
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Mount Laurel, Point Pleasant, Princeton and Middletown. All major credit cards are accepted.
309 Fellowship Road,
East Gate Center,
Suite 200, Mt. Laurel,
New Jersey, 08054
By Appointment Only
100 Horizon Center
New Jersey, 08691
Phone: (609) 789-0779
By Appointment Only
Point Pleasant Office
309 Fellowship Road, East Gate Center, Suite 200, Mt. Laurel, New Jersey, 08054