Our firm has dedicated itself to the practice of criminal defense, including juveniles, throughout New Jersey. Firm Partner and Former NJ Deputy Attorney General, William Fay, heads our criminal practice in Burlington County. For an immediate and complimentary consultation with Mr. Fay, please contactour Burlington County office. We represent juveniles arrested in towns like Mount Holly, Maple Shade, Riverside, Florence, Delran, Burlington, Bordentown, Moorestown, Pemberton, Eveshamand Cinnaminson, just to name a few. Do not hesitate to reach out to our firm with any questions or concerns about your juvenile case.
Juvenile Robbery Charges N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1
If you or a family member were charged with robbery, either as an adult or juvenile, the corresponding statute will be N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1. These charges will either be treated as a first degree offense or second degree offense, depending upon the circumstances. Each individual charge is broken-down below.
First Degree Juvenile Robbery Charge
Robbery charges are a first degree felony offense if “during the course of committing a theft the juvenile either: (1) Attempted to kill another or (2) Purposely inflicted or attempted to inflict serious bodily injury on another; or (3) Was armed with or used or threatened the immediate use of a deadly weapon.
Second Degree Juvenile Robbery Charge
Robbery charges are a second degree felony offense if “during the course of committing a theft the juvenile either: (1) Knowingly inflicted bodily injury or used force upon another; or (2) Threatened another with or purposely put him/her in fear of immediate bodily injury; or (3) Commits or threatens immediately to commit any crime of the first or second degree.
These kinds of situations typically arise from a shoplifting incident that goes awry and involves a struggle between the juvenile and a store employee during the attempted escape. This is just one of the many typical scenarios that could result in robbery charges.
What Are the Juvenile Penalties for Robbery in NJ?
As previously discussed, juvenile robbery charges will either be filed as a 1st degree or 2nd degree offense. The penalties for these two categories of charges also differ. If adjudicated delinquent of second degree juvenile robbery, your child may serve up to 3 years int he juvenile detention center. Alternatively, first degree juvenile robbery charges carry up to 4 years in a juvenile detention center. Depending upon the strength of the State’s case, the extent of the juvenile’s involvement in the offense and the juvenile’s criminal history, the court may consider alternatives to detention, such as mental health treatment, probation, home detention, social services or other non-detention related alternatives.
Robbery Attorneys in Pemberton NJ
If you or your brother / sister / child were arrested for robbery, simple assault, sexual assault or underage possession of alcoholin Burlington County, call the Juvenile Lawyers at Proetta, Oliver & Fay. Our office services clients throughout New Jersey and can be reached 24/7 by calling (609) 850-8284. If you have any questions at all, please do not hesitate to contact our office immediate. The initial call and consultation are provided free of charge for your convenience.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted.
525 Highway 73, Suite 104, Marlton, New Jersey 08053 Phone: 609-850-8284 By Appointment Only
100 Horizon Center Boulevard, Hamilton, New Jersey, 08691 By Appointment Only
Point Pleasant Office
3828 River Road,
Suite A, Point Pleasant,
New Jersey 08742
By Appointment Only
180 Kings Highway, Middletown Township, New Jersey 07748 By Appointment Only