Shoplifting is one of New Jersey’s most common theft charges. As severe as shoplifting charges are for an adult, when a minor or juvenile is charged with shoplifting, the concerns become greater. Not only is the juvenile facing a juvenile record, but they may also be subject to detention at a juvenile facility in the juvenile’s home county. If you or your child were caught shoplifting in Burlington County as a juvenile, contact an experienced NJ Juvenile Lawyer. Due to the circumstances of your case, you will be required to appear at the Burlington County Superior Court, Family Division for your juvenile delinquency matter. As a juvenile, you are required to be represented by an attorney in your case.
Our firm has handled countless juvenile cases throughout New Jersey. If you were charged with shoplifting in Mount Holly,Evesham,Mount Laurel, Burlington, Bordentown, Medford, Moorestown, Florence or Willingboro, contact our office. For an immediate and complimentary consultation with an attorney about your juvenile charges, please contact our office directly at (609) 850-8284. Our firm can be reached 24/7 for your convenience and we will provide you with information on how you can expect your juvenile case to proceed through the court system.
Moorestown NJ Juvenile Shoplifting Lawyer
The act of shoplifting can stem from multiple forms of conduct. Under N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11b, states that:
“Any person to purposely take possession of, carry away, transfer or cause to be carried away or transferred, any merchandise displayed, held, stored or offered for sale by any store or other retail mercantile establishment with the intention of depriving the merchant of the possession, use or benefit of such merchandise or converting the same to the use of such person without paying to the merchant the full retail value thereof.”
You may notice that this statue is very verbose and long-winded. For a more complete step-by-step breakdown of shoplifting laws, please visit here.
Will My Child Go to Jail for Shoplifting?
First off, unless the juvenile is being treated as an adult, they will only be subject to detention at the Burlington County Juvenile Detention Center, which is technically different than jail. Nevertheless, depending on the nature of your child’s offense and the value of the goods involved, the court may sentence your son or daughter to a term of detention up to three (3) years in certain shoplifting cases. Specifically, the severity of charges and correlating penalties for juvenile shoplifting will be as follows:
Second Degree Shoplifting Charges
♦ A Juvenile will be charged with Second Degree Shoplifting if the value of the merchandise exceeds $75,000. This offense carries up to three (3) years in the Burlington County Juvenile Detention Center.
Third Degree Shoplifting Charges
♦ A Juvenile will be charged with Third Degree Shoplifting if the value is between $500 and $75,000. This offense carries up to two (2) years in the Burlington County Juvenile Detention Center.
Fourth Degree Shoplifting Charges
♦ A Juvenile will be charged with Fourth Degree Shoplifting if the value is between $200 and $500. This offense carries up to one (1) year in the Burlington County Juvenile Detention Center.
Disorderly Persons Offense Shoplifting Charges
♦ A Juvenile will be charged with a Disorderly Persons Offense Shoplifting if the value is less than $200. This offense carries up to six (6) months in the Burlington County Juvenile Detention Center.
What Factors Does the Court Consider When Sentencing a Juvenile?
Whether you plead guilty or if you are found guilty after a formal hearing, the Judge will consider the following factors when determining how to sentence the juvenile:
◊ The nature and circumstances of the offense ◊ The extent of the damage or injury caused by the offense ◊ The potential threat (if any) that the juvenile poses to the public safety ◊ The impact of the offense on the victim(s) and the community ◊ The juvenile’s age, previous record, and any social services received ◊ The juvenile’s physical, psychological, social, academic, and developmental needs ◊ Whether the disposition supports family strength and unity, as well as the juvenile’s well-being and physical safety ◊ Whether the disposition provides for reasonable participation by the juvenile’s parent or guardian and ◊ Any other relevant parts of the juvenile’s history
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted.
525 Highway 73, Suite 104, Marlton, New Jersey 08053 Phone: 609-850-8284 By Appointment Only
100 Horizon Center Boulevard, Hamilton, New Jersey, 08691 By Appointment Only
Point Pleasant Office
3828 River Road,
Suite A, Point Pleasant,
New Jersey 08742
By Appointment Only
180 Kings Highway, Middletown Township, New Jersey 07748 By Appointment Only