Have you been arrested and charged with possession of crystal meth? Was a family member arrested for distribution of methamphetamine? If so, it is important that you educate yourself on what these criminal charges entail and what penalties you are potentially facing. In New Jersey, methamphetamine charges are prosecuted based on the amount/volume of drugs involved. While a simple possession case will be handled as a third degree felony offense, a distribution charge could be handled as a first degree offense if the volume of drugs exceed a certain amount (this is explained in more detail below). Whatever the case, methamphetamine or crystal meth charges will be handled as indictable felony offenses and be prosecuted by the Burlington County Prosecutor’s Office at the Burlington County Superior Court in Mount Holly, NJ.
Mr. Fay, one of the firm’s partners is a former New Jersey Deputy Attorney General and he has dedicated his career practicing criminal law. He has successfully represented countless defendants throughout New Jersey and represents clients charged with drug offenses throughout Burlington County, including Evesham,Mount Holly,Burlington Township, Bordentown, Pemberton, Cinnaminson, Moorestown, Florence, Maple Shade and Lumberton. If you would like to speak with Mr. Fay or one of his partners, please contact our office directly at (609) 850-8284.
Possession of Crystal Meth N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10a
Possession of meth is a third degree offense, regardless of the amount. However, if you possess a large quantity of drugs or if there are other paraphernalia present, you may be charged with possession with intent to distribute, which could drastically increase your exposure to incarceration. If convicted of drug possession involved crystal math, you are facing up to five (5) years in a New Jersey State Prison, up to a $35,000 fine, probation, community service and a suspension of your driving privileges.
Distribution of Crystal Meth Attorney in Burlington Township NJ
Distribution charges involving methamphetamine or crystal meth will be prosecuted and penalized based on the weight of drugs involved. If the drugs exceed 5 ounces, then you will be charged with first degree methamphetamine distribution. If the drugs exceed ½ ounce but are less than 5 ounces, then you will be charged with second degree methamphetamine distribution. Lastly, if the drug are less than ½ ounce, then you will be charged with third degree methamphetamine distribution. The penalties for these offenses are as follows:
1st Degree Methamphetamine Distribution Charges
Up to twenty (20) years in prison
Up to $200,000 fine
2nd Degree Methamphetamine Distribution Charges
Up to ten (10) years in prison
Up to $150,000 fine
3rd Degree Methamphetamine Distribution Charges
Up to five (5) years in prison
Up to $35,000 fine;
Crystal Meth Distribution Lawyers Evesham NJ
Criminal charges are never something to be handled alone. Whether you obtain the assistance of a public defender or a criminal attorney, it is imperative that you seek out and consult with legal counsel. The ramifications from a criminal conviction for methamphetamine possession or distribution will haunt you for the rest of your life. You could loss your driver’s license for two (2) years and be sentenced to serve five (5) years in a NJ State prison for possession alone. In more serious distribution cases, you could be staring down a twenty (20) year prison sentence that could run carry parole ineligibility and run consecutive to another prison sentence. To consult with an attorney today, please do not hesitate to contact us at (609) 850-8284.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Mount Laurel, Point Pleasant, Princeton and Middletown. All major credit cards are accepted.