Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey carries devastating penalties. However, when your DWI offense occurs within a School Zone, the penalties are even more harsher. An individual, who is under the influence of drugs or alcohol, cannot operate his or her vehicle within 1,000 feet of school property. What qualifies as school property includes more than just the actual school. Technically, any property owned, leased or used by the school district can qualify. If convicted, you face heavy fines, license suspension, insurance and DMV surcharges and other ancillary effects. If you or someone you love have been charged with Driving While Intoxicated, contact the DWI Attorneys at Proetta, Oliver & Fay. Our team of trial attorneys are prepared to handle any criminal, DWI or traffic charges you are facing. We can be reached 24/7 for convenience by calling 609-850-8284.Do not hesitate to call. Our firm understands the emotional toll that you may be dealing with and we can help work with you to resolve your Burlington County case.
Where are New Jersey School Zones?
Under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a), a School Zone, for the purpose of DWI charges, is defined as: “Any school property used for school purposes which is owned by or leased to any elementary or secondary school or school board, or within 1,000 feet of such school property; or a school crossing.” Generally, the municipal prosecutor will introduce a map depicted where the offense occurred and where the school zone is located.
Medford NJ DWI in a School Zone Penalties
In Burlington County, a School Zone DWI charge carries the following penalties:
First Offense DWI
Fines upwards of $1,000.00, mandatory incarceration at the Burlington County Jail sentence up to (60) days and a license suspension up to two (2) years.
Second Offense DWI
Fines upwards of $2,000.00, mandatory incarceration at the Burlington County Jail sentence up to six (6) months, mandatory community service and a license suspension of four (4) years.
Third or Subsequent Offense DWI
Fines upwards of $2,000.00, mandatory incarceration at the Burlington County Jail sentence of six (6) months and a license suspension for twenty (20) years.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted.
525 Highway 73, Suite 104, Marlton, New Jersey 08053 Phone: 609-850-8284 By Appointment Only
100 Horizon Center Boulevard, Hamilton, New Jersey, 08691 By Appointment Only
Point Pleasant Office
3828 River Road,
Suite A, Point Pleasant,
New Jersey 08742
By Appointment Only
180 Kings Highway, Middletown Township, New Jersey 07748 By Appointment Only