Burlington Office

FREE CONSULTATION 24/7

Hindering

Our law firm has successfully handled thousands of criminal, DWI, and municipal court charges throughout Burlington County and New Jersey.

Schedule free Consultation

Hindering Attorney in Evesham, NJ

Hindering charges are some of the most complex and fact specific criminal charges under New Jersey’s criminal code. This is because there are so many minor acts or omissions done by a defendant that could be interpreted differently. What you may consider to be candor and truthfulness, the responding officers may treat as false statements and intentional interference. Depending upon the underlying degree of the underlying charges and your specifics acts of hindering, you may be charged with hindering as either a second degree criminal offense, third degree criminal offense, fourth degree criminal offense or disorderly persons offense. In addition, you could be facing a mandatory period of parole ineligibility in certain instances. As you can plainly see, hindering charges are not to be trifled with in Burlington County. If you or someone in your family have been arrested in connection with a criminal offense and charged with hindering as a result, consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. The criminal justice system can be a confusing and daunting experience for first-time offenders. It is imperative that you obtain as much information as possible regarding your charges and seek out the right counsel. If you would like to speak with one of our attorneys at our office, call today at 609-850-8284. Our firm may be reached 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Do not hesitate to call and receive your free initial consultation.

Hindering Charges in Burlington County

Under N.J.S.A. 2C:29-3, “a person commits an the offense of hindering if, with purpose to hinder the detention, apprehension, investigation, prosecution, conviction or punishment of another.” In order to sustain a conviction, the Burlington County Prosecutor’s Office must demonstrate  beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant knew that the actor could/might be charged with an offense (criminal or otherwise) and that the defendant did any of the following seven (7) acts:

  1. Harbors or conceals the other;
  2. Provides or aids in providing a weapon, money, transportation, disguise or other means of avoiding discovery or apprehension or effecting escape;
  3. Suppresses, by way of concealment or destruction, any evidence of the crime, or tampers with a witness, informant, document or other source of information, regardless of its admissibility in evidence, which might aid in the discovery or apprehension of such person or in the lodging of a charge against him;
  4. Warns the other of impending discovery or apprehension, except that this paragraph does not apply to a warning given in connection with an effort to bring another into compliance with law;
  5. Prevents or obstructs, by means of force, intimidation or deception, anyone from performing an act which might aid in the discovery or apprehension of such person or in the lodging of a charge against him;
  6. Aids such person to protect or expeditiously profit from an advantage derived from such crime; or
  7. Gives false information to either:
                ♦ A law enforcement officer; or
                ♦ A civil State investigator assigned to the Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor

Additionally, the State must show that the defendant acted with purpose to hinder the detention, apprehension, investigation, prosecution, conviction, or punishment of the actor.

Will I Go to Jail for Hindering Law Enforcement?

Possibly. Hindering charges vary in gradation. If you are charged with a disorderly persons offense for hindering (most common), then you will be facing up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. If charged with a fourth degree offense for hindering, then you will be facing up to 18 months in jail and a $10,000 fine. If charged with third degree hindering, then you will be facing between 3 and 5 years in a New Jersey State Prison and a $15,000 fine. Lastly, if charged with second degree hindering, then you will be facing between 5 and 10 years in a New Jersey State Prison. However, you should note that the charge for third degree hindering will carry a mandatory one year period of parole ineligibility if the conduct involves suppression, concealment or destruction of evidence, or giving false information in an investigation, when the defendant knows that another person has been or is liable to be charged with leaving the scene of a fatal motor vehicle accident.

Burlington Township NJ Hindering Attorneys

If you have been charged with hindering, leaving the scene of an accident or any other criminal offense in Mount Laurel, Florence, Bordentown, Pemberton, Bass River or Marlton, call the Burlington County criminal lawyers at 609-850-8284. We will gladly discuss your matter with you and how we can represent you in the criminal matter. Call day or night and arrange for a complimentary initial consultation.

Contact Us

Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Mount Laurel, Point Pleasant, Princeton and Middletown. All major credit cards are accepted.

Burlington Office

309 Fellowship Road,

East Gate Center,

Suite 200, Mt. Laurel,

New Jersey, 08054

Phone: 609-850-8284

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

Princeton Office

100 Horizon Center

Boulevard, Hamilton,

New Jersey, 08691

Phone: (609) 789-0779

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

Point Pleasant Office

309 Fellowship Road, East Gate Center, Suite 200, Mt. Laurel, New Jersey, 08054

Phone: (848) 238-2100

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions

Middletown Office

18 Kings Highway,

Suite 109, Middletown,

New Jersey 07748

Phone: (732) 858-6959

By Appointment Only

Map and Directions