Have you been charged with Driving While Intoxicated in Burlington, New Jersey? If you are still reeling from the whirlwind of a DWI arrest in Burlington Township, contact the DWI Attorneys at Proetta, Oliver & Fay. New Jersey’s DUI and DWI (both are interchangeable and refer to the same thing) laws are some of the strictest in the United States. For first time offenders, you are facing life-altering consequences. For repeat offenders, you are facing lengthy jail sentences at the Burlington County Jail and up to a ten (10) year suspension of your Driver’s License. Considering the severity of a DWI charge, you would be well-advised to consult with an experienced Burlington DWI Lawyer. New Jersey does not permit plea bargaining in DUI cases. This means that without the experience and critical examination of the State’s case, the municipal prosecutor will not offer you a reduction in the penalties. If you have any chance in obtaining a dismissal or reduction in your charges, you must demonstrate legally recognized defenses. For an immediate consultation with a drunk driving defense lawyer, call (609) 850-8284.
The lawyers at Proetta, Oliver & Fay have been represented thousands of clients accused DWI, assault by auto, reckless driving, endangering the welfare of a child, leaving the scene of an accident, refusal, possession of marijuana under 50 grams and driving while suspended. Our experience provides us with a unique understanding of the law that helps our clients obtain the results they seek. To speak with one of our DWI trial attorneys, we can be contacted at our Mount Laurel or Hamilton Office by calling (609) 850-8284. Mr. Proetta, one of the firm’s founding partners, has obtained specialized DUI defense training including certification as an instructor of the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFST) and certification as an administrator of the Alcotest Machine. Almost every DWI case relies on at least one of these techniques, if not both. Moreover, firm partner, William C. Fay, IV, is a former New Jersey Deputy Attorney General who has spent part of his career prosecuting cases that involved DWIs. Our firm is uniquely qualified in ways that few other lawyers in New Jersey can provide.
Burlington Township NJSA 39:4-50 Attorneys
The Burlington Township Municipal Court is a very busy and active courthouse. The court handles thousands of traffic and criminal violations on a yearly basis. If you have been charged with Driving While Intoxicated under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, then you will have to appear before the Burlington Municipal Court, located at 851 Old York Rd, Burlington, NJ 08016. The Burlington Municipal Court is presided over by the Honorable Dennis P. McInerney, J.M.C. and the municipal prosecutor is Steven Wenger. If your matter proceeds to trial, you will not be entitled to a trial by a jury of your peers. Instead, you are only entitled to a bench trial that will be heard by the municipal judge, who was appointed to his position by the Burlington Municipal Council.
Do People Go to Jail for DWI in NJ?
Yes. However, the likelihood that your DUI charges will result in a jail sentence depends upon a variety of factors like: (1) Was anyone injured? (2) Was this your First Offense? (3) What was your Blood Alcohol Level? (4) Were you compliant with police?
First Offense DWI with a BAC Less than 0.10%
◊ Mandatory 3 month license suspension ◊ Up to 30 days in the Burlington County Jail ◊ $250–$400 fine ◊ $230 IDRC fee ◊ $100 to drunk driving fund ◊ $100 to AERF ◊ $1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge ◊ $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund ◊ 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC)
First Offense DWI with a BAC Above 0.10% or Drug DUI
◊ Mandatory license suspension between 7 and 12 months ◊ Up to 30 days in the Burlington County Jail ◊ If your BAC 0.15% or greater: mandatoryignition interlock device during license suspension and 6 to 12 months following restoration ◊ $300–$500 fine ◊ $230 IDRC fee ◊ $100 to drunk driving fund ◊ $100 to AERF ◊ $1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge ◊ $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund ◊ 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC)
Second Offense DWI in Burlington Township
◊ Mandatory 2 year license suspension ◊ Mandatory 2 to 90 days in the Burlington County Jail ◊ Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for the period of suspension and an additional 1 to 3 years following restoration ◊ $500–$1,000 fine ◊ $280 IDRC fee ◊ $100 to drunk driving fund ◊ $100 to AERF ◊ $1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge ◊ $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund ◊ 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC)
Third Offense DWI in Burlington Township
◊ Mandatory 10 year loss of license ◊ Mandatory 180 days in the Burlington County Jail ◊ Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for the period of suspension and an additional 1 to 3 years following restoration ◊ $1,000 fine ◊ $280 IDRC fee ◊ $100 to drunk driving fund ◊ $100 to AERF ◊ $1,500/year (for 3 years) surcharge ◊ $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund ◊ 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center (IDRC)
Burlington Township NJ DWI Lawyers
As illustrated above, DWI and DUI charges must be taken seriously. You are facing an extended license suspension, thousands of dollars in fines/surcharges, installation of an ignition interlock device and possible jail time. For an immediate consultation with an attorney, call (609) 850-8284.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted.
525 Highway 73, Suite 104, Marlton, New Jersey 08053 Phone: 609-850-8284 By Appointment Only
100 Horizon Center Boulevard, Hamilton, New Jersey, 08691 By Appointment Only
Point Pleasant Office
3828 River Road,
Suite A, Point Pleasant,
New Jersey 08742
By Appointment Only
180 Kings Highway, Middletown Township, New Jersey 07748 By Appointment Only