My mother used to tell me that “idle hands are the devil’s playground.” For minors and juveniles, this is particularly concerning because outside of school, they have ample free time with limited supervision. If your child was involved in the destruction of another person’s property, whether as a joke or with malicious intent, they may be charged with criminal mischief. Typically, Criminal Mischief charges will be prosecuted based on the value of the goods or property involved. In certain cases, a juvenile could be facing a third degree felony offense and up to two (2) years in the Burlington County Juvenile Detention Center for criminal mischief. Whether you are acting on behalf of yourself or your child, it is imperative that you consult with a Burlington County Juvenile Attorney today about your case.
N.J.S.A. 2C:17-3 lays out the law for criminal mischief in New Jersey. Specifically, this law states that the it is illegal to either:
1. Purposely or knowingly damage tangible property of another 2. Damage tangible property of another recklessly or negligently in the employment of fire, explosives or other dangerous means 3. Purposely, knowingly or recklessly tamper with tangible property of another so as to endanger person or property.
Burlington Township Criminal Mischief Charges
Third Degree Criminal Mischief
♦ Here, the value of the items involved must either be valued in excess of $2,000 or involve a research facility, gravestone or public transportation ♦ If adjudicated delinquent, your child faces up to two (2) years in the Burlington County Detention Center
Fourth Degree Criminal Mischief
♦ Here, the value of the items involved must be valued in excess of $500 but less than $2,00 ♦ If adjudicated delinquent, your child faces up to one (1) year in the Burlington County Detention Center
Disorderly Persons Offense Criminal Mischief
♦ Here, the value of the items involved must anything valued up to $500 ♦ If adjudicated delinquent, your child faces up to six (6) months in the Burlington County Detention Center
Can My Child Avoid a Juvenile Record?
Similar to adult crimes, juveniles may be afforded diversionary programs under certain situations. Depending on your child’s juvenile history, the facts surrounding his case and the prosecutor’s position, we may be able to obtain a deferred disposition for your child. If so, this will allow the court to dismiss the juvenile’s charges after completion of a successful period of probation. For more information on the availability of a deferred disposition in your child’s case, please call (609) 850-8284.
Criminal Mischief Attorney Burlington County, NJ
It doesn’t take an attorney with a law degree to realize that a juvenile charge for Criminal Mischief should be taken seriously. Children need to be protected so that a silly mistake does not haunt them for the rest of their lives. If you would like to consult with a Burlington County Juvenile Attorney today, please contact our office directly at (609) 850-8284. We can be reached 24/7 for your convenience and we will gladly discuss the process and what your options are in your child’s case.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted.
525 Highway 73, Suite 104, Marlton, New Jersey 08053 Phone: 609-850-8284 By Appointment Only
100 Horizon Center Boulevard, Hamilton, New Jersey, 08691 By Appointment Only
Point Pleasant Office
3828 River Road,
Suite A, Point Pleasant,
New Jersey 08742
By Appointment Only
180 Kings Highway, Middletown Township, New Jersey 07748 By Appointment Only