Proetta & Oliver is a criminal defense law firm that represent defendants charged with criminal offenses throughout Burlington County. We understand that the criminal justice process can be a daunting and uncomfortable place. For first-time offenders and repeat offenders alike, the thought of a prison sentence is concerning. That is why our firm has taken an individualistic and attention-driven approach to each client and each case. We make ourselves available to our clients 24/7 so that any questions and concerns can be answered in an expeditious and transparent manner. If you or a loved one were arrested and charged with Robbery in Evesham, Mt. Holly, Mount Laurel, Pemberton, Bordentown, Burlington Township, Florence, Cinnaminson, Moorestown, Willingboro, Southampton, Palmyra, Westampton or Bass River, please contact our office directly at (609) 850-8284. Please do not hesitate to call our office with our questions, we are here to help.
Robbery Lawyers in Mount Laurel NJ
In New Jersey, the Burlington County Prosecutor’s Office will file Robbery charges under N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1. This statute is found in New Jersey’s Criminal Code that deals with all criminal violations under New Jersey law. However, to prove Robbery charges, the State must demonstrate certain elements beyond a reasonable doubt. Specifically, the follow things must be proven before any person can be convicted and found guilty of Robbery:
Second Degree Robbery Charges NJ
In order for you to find the defendant guilty of Second Degree Robbery, the State is required to prove each of the following elements beyond a reasonable doubt: (1) That the defendant was in the course of committing a theft; (2) That while in the course of committing that theft the defendant (Choose from the following three):
Knowingly inflicted bodily injury or used force upon another. (State v. Mirault, 92 N.J. 492, 498-99 (1983), holds that “another” can include a responding police officer or someone else other than the victim of the theft)
Threatened another with or purposely put another in fear of immediate bodily injury
Committed or threatened immediately to commit the crime of the first or second degree
First Degree Robbery Charges NJ
For criminal charges involving First Degree Robbery, the same elements of a second degree offense must be present, but additionally, the State must show that the Defendant either:
Attempted to kill someone; or
Purposely inflicted or attempted to inflict serious bodily injury; or
Was armed with, used or threatened the immediate use of a deadly weapon.
What are the Penalties for Robbery Charges in NJ?
Like all criminal charges in New Jersey, the degree of a charge will directly impact the potential penalties. Therefore, for Robbery charges, the possible penalties and the length of a prison sentence will vary depending upon whether you are facing a second degree or first degree offense. For a Second Degree Robbery charges, you are subject to a prison sentence between five (5) and ten (10) years in a NJ Penitentiary, a $150,000 fine and a felony criminal record. For a First Degree Robbery charges, you are subject to a prison sentence between ten (10) and twenty (20) years in a NJ Penitentiary, a $200,000 fine and a felony criminal record. Additionally, because Robbery is listed under the No Early Release Act (NERA), a conviction for this offense carries a mandatory term of incarceration before being parole eligible. Specifically, you must serve at least 85% of your prison sentence before you can even become eligible for release on parole. For more information on these penalties and the No Early Release Act, please contact our office.
Can I Be Held Without Bail for Robbery Charges?
The answer is yes. Under New Jersey’s New Bail Reform Guidelines, Prosecutors can file a motion with the Superior Court to detain defendants who have been charged with certain criminal offenses. When this motion is filed, the defendant cannot be released until a formal detention hearing is conducted. At this hearing, the judge will listen to evidence regarding the probable cause in your arrest, as well as ancillary information as to why you should, or should not, be released pretrial. Depending upon information such as your Public Safety Assessment, your criminal history and the facts of you case, the judge may decide that you must be detained during the entire pretrial process of your case. For Robbery charges, there is a possibility that a judge may rule to detain you pretrial. It is crucial that you consult with an experienced Burlington County Detention Hearing Attorney immediately.
Evesham NJ Robbery Lawyer
I am sure you already were aware of how serious Robbery charges were before you read through this information. Nevertheless, I hope that the information provided above offered you some additional information into the process of a criminal charge for Robbery, as well as the penalties you may be facing. One thing is clear, Robbery charges should not be taken lightly and you should immediately consult with a criminal attorney if you or a family member have been charged with such an offense. Failure to take the necessary protective measures can result in a twenty (20) year prison sentence with seventeen (17) years before you become parole eligible. Firm Partner and former New Jersey Deputy Attorney General, William C. Fay, Esq., leads our Burlington County Criminal Law Practice Group. Having spent most of his career practicing criminal law, Mr. Fay is an experienced and well-prepared criminal defense attorney. For an immediate and complimentary consultation with an attorney, please contact our Burlington County Office today at (609) 850-8284. We can be reached 24/7 for your convenience and we will gladly answer any questions you may have about your pending criminal case.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Mount Laurel, Point Pleasant, Princeton and Middletown. All major credit cards are accepted.