DWI can be embarrassing and uncomfortable for a variety of reasons. When these charges involve someone who is under the age of 21 and presumably still living with their parents, these charges can carry an even greater burden. Under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14, it is unlawful for any person under the legal age (21) to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. Practically speaking, any amount of alcohol registering on an Alcotest will result in charges. Typically, DWI charges require visible intoxication based on Standard Field Sobriety Tests or a per se violation when your blood-alcohol level exceeds .08%. However, someone under the age of twenty-one (21) needs only a few sips of beer or wine to register on the Alcotest and be charged with Driving While Intoxicated.
New Jersey’s Underage DWI law is relatively simple. The law can be found under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14 and it states the following:
“Any person under the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages who operates a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.01% or more, but less than 0.08%, by weight of alcohol in his blood, shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State or shall be prohibited from obtaining a license to operate a motor vehicle in this State for a period of not less than 30 or more than 90 days beginning on the date he becomes eligible to obtain a license or on the day of conviction, whichever is later, and shall perform community service for a period of not less than 15 or more than 30 days.”
Any trace whatsoever of alcohol will result in a conviction under this statute.
While I Lose My Driver’s License for Underage DWI in New Jersey?
As mentioned above, a driver convicted of Driving While Intoxicated Underage will be forced to lose their license for a period of between thirty (30) and ninety (90) days. If the defendant does not currently have a license, then they will be barred from obtaining one for that period or, if they are not eligible for a license, then the suspension period will begin on the date they are eligible to apply for a license. Additionally, the court must impose mandatory community service for a period of 15 to 30 days. Finally, the court will impose various fines, fees and surcharges and require that the driver participate in a program with the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
Underage DWI Lawyers in Burlington County NJ
If you or someone you love have been arrested and charged with Driving While Intoxicated in Burlington County, contact and experienced DWI law firm. Here at Proetta, Oliver & Fay, we have handled hundreds, if not thousands, of DWI cases throughout our careers. We understand the complexities that exist in these cases and, better yet, the types of defense tactics that work. For your complimentary consultation with a DWI attorney, call (609) 850-8284.
Our phones are answered 24 hours a day. We are available weekdays during business hours. We also meet with clients on evenings and weekends by request. We have four office locations conveniently located in Jersey City, Edison, Middletown, Cranford, Burlington, and Hamilton. All major credit cards are accepted.
525 Highway 73, Suite 104, Marlton, New Jersey 08053 Phone: 609-850-8284 By Appointment Only
100 Horizon Center Boulevard, Hamilton, New Jersey, 08691 By Appointment Only
Point Pleasant Office
3828 River Road,
Suite A, Point Pleasant,
New Jersey 08742
By Appointment Only
180 Kings Highway, Middletown Township, New Jersey 07748 By Appointment Only